McCullum incensed by obstructing field call

11 January 2018 22:11:43 GMTPlus10

Captain Brendon McCullum was left angered by a controversial call which helped Hobart Hurricanes beat his Brisbane Heat side at the Gabba.

Alex Ross was given out for obstructing the field in their Big Bash League clash as the home side chased 180 for an unlikely victory.

D'Arcy Short's superb unbeaten 122 from 69 balls - the highest individual score in a BBL match - had left Brisbane facing a big total.

Sam Heazlett made 45 from 33 balls in the reply, but the visitors lost by three runs and saw Hobart move level with them on the ladder with eight points.

Ross (27 from 19) was hit by a return throw while scampering for a second run, the ball deflecting off his body into the stumps as he made his ground. The Hurricanes appealed for a run-out, then queried if Ross had purposely changed his line and obstructed the field, to which the third umpire agreed.

McCullum said opposing captain George Bailey may regret not calling Ross back to the crease in what would have been a nod to the spirit of cricket.

"I don't really care what the rules are, to me it is one of those grey areas like the Mankad," said the Heat skipper. "To me it falls into the spirit of the game and I was making that point to George. Sometimes there are opportunities which are more important than the two points.

"Every now and then you get a chance to stand up for the spirit of the game and I think tonight George missed an opportunity. He, in time, will perhaps live to wish he made the other choice."

Short carried his bat throughout the Hurricanes innings, hitting eight sixes and eight fours and put on 64 for the second wicket with Matthew Wade.

Brisbane are 1213.00 to win the Big Bash League title.

View allĀ Cricket betting

Tags