Scotland confirm T20 World Cup squad

11 September 2021 03:15:04 GMTPlus11
Kyle Coetzer will captain Scotland

Kyle Coetzer will lead Scotland's squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup in Oman and the UAE.

The Scots are 251.00 to win the tournament, while England are 5.00 to emerge victorious. Scotland faced the likes of Singapore and Bermuda in a 2019 qualifying event before sealing their place with a crucial win over the Omani co-hosts.

This is an experienced, versatile and exciting group of players

Shane Burger

Former England man Jonathan Trott has been brought in to provide batting consultancy and Scotland have recalled Josh Davey, Michael Leask, George Munsey and Mark Watt, all of whom featured for the side in the 2016 T20 World Cup.

Veterans Richie Berrington, Calum Macleod, Safyaan Sharif and Ally Evans will all travel, while Matthew Cross, formerly of Nottinghamshire 2nd XI, will keep wicket once again.

Read More

Windies selector expects strong T20 title defence

Silverwood - Mills deserves England spot

England will not rush Stokes decision

Morgan says England are ready to chase T20 glory

Dylan Budge, Chris Greaves, Oli Hairs, Chris Sole, Hamza Tahir, Craig Wallace and Brad Wheal complete the squad with maiden ICC major event call-ups.

Head coach Shane Burger said: "This squad has worked hard over a long period of time now and deserves the opportunity to show the world what we are about.

"This is an experienced, versatile and exciting group of players and we're looking forward to embracing the challenges ahead as a team."

The Scots begin their tournament in the first round, one stage prior to the introduction of the world's top-ranked sides, kicking off their Group B round-robin campaign against Bangladesh on 17th October. A match-up with Papua New Guinea follows before another encounter with Oman, who scraped into the tournament in the final qualifying berth.

The two top-ranked teams from each initial group of four will advance to the Super 12, where two groups of six - completed by the eight higher-ranked entrants - will battle to reach the semi-finals. All sides face each group opponent once.

In three previous appearances at the event - in 2007, 2009 and 2016 - Scotland failed to progress beyond the first round.

More Cricket

All Betting